Click here to get a FREE 18 page preview of Ken’s 85th Book – “15 Minutes of Fame”

Battersby, David - The Auckland single-wicket competition, 1968-73

The 10th and latest booklet by David Battersby, limited to 120 copies



subtitled: 1968-73, 16 page Limited, Numbered and Signed by the author. Just 120 copies were printed. Card covers.

The story of the Auckland ‘Guinness’ Single-Wicket Competition held at Eden Park between 1968 and 1973… and also the Auckland double-wicket competition of 1974 and 1975′

The booklet covers comprehensive details of each of the six years the competition took place as well as full details of the scores of all of the matches. No details of the tournament exist online so the booklet will be of value to those with an interest of cricketing events from ‘The Land of the Long White Cloud’.

The competition attracted a whole host of Kiwi Internationals in the six seasons it was held at Eden Park. These included amongst others Mark Burgess, John Sparling, Bruce Taylor, Arch Taylor, Graham Vivian, Hedley Howarth, Ross Morgan, Terry Jarvis, Rodney Redmond as well as the ex-Worcestershire player Martin Horton.

Also included is a brief look at the ‘Lion Super’ Double-Wicket Competition, which for two seasons, replaced the Single-Wicket Competition.

The booklet reproduces the covers of some of the rare programmes issued for the Competitions.